Anderson Wins In Ackland

Double world champion Gary Anderson won successive World Series titles, after a thrilling victory over the 2015 Auckland Master Adrian Lewis. The world champion first faced a tough looking semi-final, against the five-time champion of the world Raymond van Barneveld. Anderson had the packed house on the edge of their seats, winning 11-7 with a mind-blowing average of 111.37. Lewis overcame James Wade in the other semi-final, winning 11-9 in a game that could have gone either way. Wade had dumped out the world number one Michael van Gerwen, in the previous round but just fell short of making the final but on this form will be a major threat in the latter part of the year.


Gary Anderson 2016 Auckland Master
Gary Anderson 2016 Auckland Master


In the opening legs of the final Anderson and Lewis were going toe to toe, as the treble 20 was getting hit more than the single 20. Lewis took out 121 on the bull to cut Anderson’s lead to just one at 5-4, but Anderson won back to back legs to lead 7-4. The 14th leg of the match seem to be the leg that Anderson broke Lewis, the Scotsman broke throw with an 11 dart leg and looked set to thrill the crowd as he hit six perfect darts. From there Anderson never looked like surrendering the lead, wrapping up the final 11-7.
After Anderson said “ I’m absolutely delighted, and I have enjoyed this week. Everybody has played well, and there has been some brilliant darts. The World Series allows us to showcase our sport to the world. I now can’t wait for Shanghai next week.”

By Phill Barrs 

About the author

Hi I'm Phill huge sports fans. I'm a sports blogger on all sports from Darts to Football. Massive Tottenham fan. also a huge Darts fan. Follow me on Twitter @phillbarrs

Leave a Reply