Ian White Wins Players Championship 13 But Nicholson Is Back

Players Championship 13 took place at Barnsley today, in what was a thrilling day of darts. As Ian White stole the show to win his second title of the year. World champion Gary Anderson had won Players Championship 12 on Saturday, and was hoping to make it back to win. The back to back wins wouldn’t happen for Anderson this weekend, as he was one of many high-profile casualties in the first round today. Anderson along with number one seed Peter Wright, Stephen Bunting and Mervyn King all fell at the first hurdle. Anderson lost 6-3 to his protege Chris Dobey, Wright lost 6-5 to Steve McNally, Bunting 6-2 against Ryan Palmer and King 6-5 to Mickey Mansell.


One of the standout performances was Paul Nicholson; the Asset has had a torrid two years due to injury. Nicholson made it through to the last 16 which was his best run in over two years, on the way Nicholson beat Nathan Aspinall, Kyle Anderson and Simon Whitlock, before losing to eventual runner-up Benito van de Pas. Van de Pas also ended James Wilson’s best ever run at a Pro Tour event, Wilson lost in the semi-final. Mensur Suljovic continued his remarkable run as the only player to win money at every PDC ranking event in 2016; the Austrian was beaten in the Quarter-final by Ian White. Joe Cullen was also a beaten semi-finalist, to continue his excellent run of form.


Paul Nicholson
Paul Nicholson


There was a fantastic opportunity this weekend as; Michael van Gerwen, Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis has all decided to take the weekend off ahead of the World Series. The opportunity that some players jumped on. In a thrilling final Ian White beat Benito van de Pas 6-4, with one break of throw enough to take White to victory. White is again knocking on the door of the top 10, and van de Pas the top 16 after the weekend. The rest of 2016 is going to be thrilling with so much to play for, and the rankings being so close every penny will count between now and the world championships.


First Round

Steve McNally 6-5 Peter Wright (1)

James Wilson 6-4 Colin Littlecott

Jonny Clayton (32) 6-2 James Richardson

Jamie Robinson 6-3 Michael Barnard

Mickey Mansell 6-5 Mervyn King (16)

Wes Newton 6-3 Alan Tabern

Steve Beaton (17) 6-2 Michael Power

Mike Zuydwijk 6-5 Ted Evetts

Terry Jenkins (8) 6-5 Mike de Decker

Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Scott Dale

Robbie Green (25) 6-5 Vincent Kamphuis

Dean Winstanley 6-2 Richie Corner

Andy Jenkins 6-4 Gerwyn Price (9)

Jason Wilson 6-3 Ricky Evans

Kevin Dowling 6-5 Josh Payne (24)

Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Simon Preston

James Wade (5) 6-2 Nathan Derry

Andy Hamilton 6-0 Mark Walsh

Rowby-John Rodriguez (28) 6-2 Peter Hudson

Jan Dekker 6-4 Darren Webster

Alan Norris (12) 6-0 Lee Palfreyman

Steve Brown 6-2 Keegan Brown

John Henderson 6-4 Mark Webster (21)

Shaun Griffiths 6-5 Pete Dyos

Benito van de Pas (4) 6-1 Nigel Daniels

Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 Curtis Hammond

Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Kevin Painter (29)

Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Mick Todd

Simon Whitlock (13) 6-0 Dennis Smith

Brian Woods 6-5 Stuart Kellett

Kyle Anderson (20) 6-2 Matthew Dennant

Paul Nicholson 6-5 Nathan Aspinall

Kim Huybrechts (2) 6-2 Matthew Edgar

Steve Hine 6-5 Lee Evans

Steve West (31) 6-3 Matt Clark

Kevin Thomas 6-2 Jim Walker

Joe Cullen (15) 6-5 William O’Connor

Dave Ladley 6-5 Jyhan Artut

Robert Thornton (18) 6-5 Antonio Alcinas

Andrew Gilding 6-3 Harry Robinson

Chris Dobey 6-3 Gary Anderson (7)

Magnus Caris 6-5 Ricky Williams

Cristo Reyes (26) 6-1 Robert Owen

Devon Petersen 6-1 Ray Campbell

Jelle Klaasen (10) 6-5 Andy Boulton

Yordi Meeuwisse 6-5 Jonathan Worsley

Vincent van der Voort (23) 6-2 David Pallett

Mark Frost 6-3 Haruki Muramatsu

Mensur Suljovic (6) 6-2 Darren Johnson

Andy Smith 6-0 Andy Parsons

Joe Murnan 6-4 Brendan Dolan (27)

Christian Kist 6-4 Nigel Heydon

Ryan Palmer 6-2 Stephen Bunting (11)

Jamie Lewis 6-5 Paul Milford

Ronny Huybrechts 6-4 Justin Pipe (22)

Chris Quantock 6-5 Ryan Meikle

Ian White (3) 6-1 Mark Barilli

Joey Palfreyman 6-4 Berry van Peer

Max Hopp (30) 6-4 Darron Brown

Wayne Jones 6-2 John Bowles

Daryl Gurney (14) 6-4 Tony Newell

Jeffrey de Graaf 6-2 Jason Lovett

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Jamie Caven (19)

Mick McGowan 6-3 Jason Marriot


Second Round

James Wilson 6-1 Steve McNally

Jamie Robinson 6-5 Jonny Clayton

Mickey Mansell 6-5 Wes Newton

Steve Beaton 6-1 Mike Zuydwijk

Ronnie Baxter 6-2 Terry Jenkins

Robbie Green 6-4 Dean Winstanley

Jason Wilson 6-3 Andy Jenkins

Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Kevin Dowling

James Wade 6-2 Andy Hamilton

Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-3 Jan Dekker

Alan Norris 6-1 Steve Brown

John Henderson 6-4 Shaun Griffiths

Benito van de Pas 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena

Simon Whitlock 6-0 Brian Woods

Paul Nicholson 6-5 Kyle Anderson

Steve Hine 6-5 Kim Huybrechts

Steve West 6-3 Kevin Thomas

Joe Cullen 6-1 Dave Ladley

Andrew Gilding 6-3 Robert Thornton

Chris Dobey 6-2 Magnus Caris

Cristo Reyes 6-3 Devon Petersen

Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Yordi Meeuwisse

Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Mark Frost

Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Andy Smith

Christian Kist 6-2 Joe Murnan

Jamie Lewis 6-2 Ryan Palmer

Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Chris Quantock

Ian White 6-2 Joey Palfreyman

Wayne Jones 6-3 Max Hopp

Jeffrey de Graaf 6-3 Daryl Gurney

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Mick McGowan


Third Round

James Wilson 6-3 Jamie Robinson

Mickey Mansell 6-5 Steve Beaton

Ronnie Baxter 6-1 Robbie Green

Jason Wilson 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp

James Wade 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez

Alan Norris 6-2 John Henderson

Benito van de Pas 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Paul Nicholson 6-4 Simon Whitlock

Steve West 6-4 Steve Hine

Joe Cullen 6-2 Andrew Gilding

Cristo Reyes 6-5 Chris Dobey

Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Jelle Klaasen

Mensur Suljovic  6-2 Christian Kist

Jamie Lewis 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts

Ian White 6-2 Wayne Jones

Jeffrey de Graaf 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh


Fourth Round

James Wilson 6-4 Mickey Mansell

Jason Wilson 6-3 Ronnie Baxter

Alan Norris 6-3 James Wade

Benito van de Pas 6-1 Paul Nicholson

Steve West v Joe Cullen

Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Cristo Reyes

Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Jamie Lewis

Ian White 6-1 Jeffrey de Graaf



James Wilson 6-1 Jason Wilson

Benito van de Pas 6-5 Alan Norris

Joe Cullen 6-0 Vincent van der Voort

Ian White 6-5 Mensur Suljovic



Benito van de Pas 6-3 James Wilson

Ian White 6-4 Joe Cullen



Ian White 6-4 Benito van de Pas


By Phill Barrs

About the author

Hi I'm Phill huge sports fans. I'm a sports blogger on all sports from Darts to Football. Massive Tottenham fan. also a huge Darts fan. Follow me on Twitter @phillbarrs

Leave a Reply