Next Stop Dusseldorf For The European Darts Open

Next stop is Dusseldorf for the PDC stars, for the HappyBet European Darts Open. Fresh off the back of the World Matchplay, Michael van Gerwen is again the number one seed, and will be full of confidence after winning the World Matchplay. Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis have both decided not to travel after the World Matchplay. Both left the Winter Gardens stage looking like broken men, after suffering crushing defeats against Michael van Gerwen.

Last year’s winner Robert Thornton will start his defence against either Wez Newton or Shaun Griffiths. The first round draw has thrown up some fantastic looking games. Kyle Anderson against Cristo Reyes looks the standout of the opening round games, along with Robbie Green against Daryl Gurney. The first round action is played over a double session on Friday. The top 16 seeds then enter the action on Saturday at the start of the second round.


First Round Draw
Credit PDC


Tournament Draw Bracket
Michael Smith (3) v James Richardson/Daniele Petri
Stephen Bunting (14) v Mark Frost/Host Nation Qualifier 2
Ian White (6) v Andy Jenkins/Devon Petersen
Terry Jenkins (11) v Jonny Clayton/Andy Hamilton
Benito van de Pas (7) v Robbie Green/Daryl Gurney
Mensur Suljovic (10) v John Michael/Host Nation Qualifier 4
Peter Wright (2) v Host Nation Qualifier 3/Steve West
Simon Whitlock (15) v Gerwyn Price/Tony Newell
Dave Chisnall (4) v John Henderson/Jan Dekker
Gary Anderson (13) v Kim Viljanen/Host Nation Qualifier 1
Kim Huybrechts (5) v Dimitri Van den Bergh/Jeffrey de Graaf
Robert Thornton (12) v Wes Newton/Shaun Griffiths
Jelle Klaasen (8) v Ritchie Edhouse/Harry Ward
James Wade (9) v Host Nation Qualifier 5/Andy Boulton
Michael van Gerwen (1) v Jamie Caven/Christian Kist
Alan Norris (16) v Cristo Reyes/Kyle Anderson

About the author

Hi I'm Phill huge sports fans. I'm a sports blogger on all sports from Darts to Football. Massive Tottenham fan. also a huge Darts fan. Follow me on Twitter @phillbarrs

Leave a Reply