Thornton Klaassen Suljovic and Smith Added To World Series Finals

The lineup for next month’s World Series finals has begun to take shape with Robert Thornton, Jelle Klaasen, Mensur Suljovic and Michael Smith confirmed in this year’s tournament which will be shown live on ITV4. The top 12 players in the world will be in action. The eight PDC stars that represented the sport during the World Series Tour automatically qualify for the finals, so Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Adrian Lewis, Phil Taylor, Peter Wright, James Wade, Dave Chisnall and Raymond van Barneveld will join Thornton, Klaasen, Suljovic and Smith in Glasgow next month.


Michael Smith in action
Michael Smith in action



The rest of the 24 man field is made up of eight prospects from around the world; that will be announced over the next week or so. While the final four spots will be decided in Barnsley on the 23rd October, when PDC tour card holders compete for the final places.
The format is as followed. The eight seeds have byes into the second round, leaving the final 16 players in round one, with the eight global prospects playing the rest of the PDC stars.
The World Series final brings to a climax this year’s World Series which has seen wins for Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson and Phil Taylor. With the PDC taking darts to all corners of the globe, as the sport continues to grow a new date has been added to next year’s World Series as the PDC head back to Las Vegas.

All the PDC top stars will now have one eye on Ally Pally with the worlds on the horizon, so all the stage time they can get between now and then could prove to be vital in this packed end of the season.


By Phill Barrs 

About the author

Hi I'm Phill huge sports fans. I'm a sports blogger on all sports from Darts to Football. Massive Tottenham fan. also a huge Darts fan. Follow me on Twitter @phillbarrs

Leave a Reply