Van Gerwen Edges Past Suljovic

On a thrilling final day in Muelheim, it was Michael van Gerwen who won the Happybet European Darts Trophy. But it’s Mensur Suljovic again who will grab the headlines, as the rise of the Austrian continues as he reached the final for the second week in a row. The day started with the last 16, and it was looking tough to pick a winner after so many good performances on Saturday. After the afternoon session, it was only seeds left in the draw, which was in stark contrast to last weekend.

Third Round
James Wade 6-3 Andy Jenkins
Michael Smith 6-4 Robert Thornton
Ian White 3-6 Mensur Suljovic
Peter Wright 6-5 Joe Cullen
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Terry Jenkins
Dave Chisnall 3-6 Gerwyn Price
Benito van de Pas 5-6 Jelle Klaasen
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Simon Whitlock
The evening session was of the highest quality, as the PDC stars put on a show for the German crowd. Van Gerwen swept aside Jelle Klaasen with an 115 average, Klaasen winning only two legs with a 107 average himself. James Wade returning to action this weekend, after missing last weekend beat Michael Smith 6-5. Mensur Suljovic beat Peter Wright for the first time, and in some style winning 6-1. Kim Huybrechts completed the semi-final lineup as he beat Gerwyn Price 6-4

James Wade 6-5 Michael Smith
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Peter Wright
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Gerwyn Price
Jelle Klaasen 2-6 Michael van Gerwen

Semi-finals were also packed full of drama. In the first, it was Suljovic who was first to book his place in the final, beating James Wade 6-3 as his favourite double 14 came to his aid. The second semi-final would go down to a final leg, as van Gerwen edged out Huybrechts 6-5.

The final had the best two players on the European Tour as both Suljovic and van Gerwen had won their last eight games on the tour. In the final, the pendulum swung one way then the other, and after ten thrilling legs it would come down to a one leg shootout. The world number one showed why he’d won so much already in his young career, as after nine darts he’d left tops. The Dutchman would duly add the European Darts Trophy to his collection, winning 6-5.

James Wade 3-6 Mensur Suljovic
Kim Huybrechts 4-5 Michael van Gerwen

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Mensur Suljovic


By Phill Barrs 

About the author

Hi I'm Phill huge sports fans. I'm a sports blogger on all sports from Darts to Football. Massive Tottenham fan. also a huge Darts fan. Follow me on Twitter @phillbarrs

Leave a Reply