Waites, Durrant, Smith And Fitton All Confirmed For The Grand Slam of Darts

Grand Slam of Darts Logo

Former Grand Slam of Darts champion Scott Waites will be heading back to Wolverhampton, as one of the eight BDO representatives for 2016. BDO world number one Glen Durrant, World Championship runner-up Jeff Smith, World Trophy winner Darryl Fitton have also been confirmed for this year’s lineup. Both Durrant and Smith will be making their debuts at this year’s tournament, after having a fantastic season on the BDO tour.


Scott Waites wins the Grand Slam of Darts
Scott Waites wins the Grand Slam of Darts


The Grand Slam is one of the unique cross-code tournaments that brings darts back together, even if it is only for nine days. Waites won Grand Slam back in 2010 when he beat James Wade 16-12 in a thrilling final, having trailed Wade 8-0 at one point. The other four BDO representatives are yet to be decided, as they will be the top four ranked players in the DBO Invitational table at the end of 30th September. At the moment these places occupied by; Scott Mitchell, Martin Adams, Danny Noppert and Jamie Hughes. But as we all know a lot can change between now and the 30th September.


By Phill Barrs 

About the author

Hi I'm Phill huge sports fans. I'm a sports blogger on all sports from Darts to Football. Massive Tottenham fan. also a huge Darts fan. Follow me on Twitter @phillbarrs

Leave a Reply